Sunday, August 31, 2008

Frankfurt!!








Today was a great day! First, i woke up at 8 am and worked out which was a pretty hard one. After weights I looked for a cell phone which i decided not to buy at the moment but soon!! By the time i arrived home was about 1 pm and my roommates were still asleep!!!! Off course i had to wake them up........after i woke them up we decided to take the train and go to Frankfurt!

We got to the train station and the first problem arrived...we could no figure out which train to take.....these Germans are not as organized as the Americans are!!!! Anyway...being the smart women that we are we figured it out!!! ahahhaaha

By the time we arrived in Frankfurt which took about 30 minutes we were pretty sleepy but nothing that the history and the city would take care of. As soon as we steped out of the train we could see how nice and pretty things were. Everything was so different and cool at the same time! It was hard to take all the history behind everything!

We first decided that we wanted to go see the Opera House (see picture) which was a amazinha piece of architeture!! After that we were overhealmed with everything.
Must say thanks Cleve for the GPS which saved us a couple of times!! Love you honey!!

Anyway, we walked and walked and took as many pictures as we could.....sorry i could only post a few!!!! Hope that one day people can experience this amazing city!!
Now, it was time to eat (as you can see on the pictures).....I had some chicken.
Later on, we found out that there was a festival by the Main River. We walked over and it was great.....there was food from everywhere in the world (too bad i had already eaten!!!) There were a lot of peple and the scenary was unbelivable...the river with bridges and amazing churches around....I will never forget! We enjoyed the festival but around 8 pm we were really tired and decided to get back home.

Not so fast!! We had to stop at the bookstore to buy a map from Germany and one from Europe. WE wanted to hang them up in the living room and use them as guide to which countries and places we want to visit!!

We finally, made our way back to Wiesbaden. We decided to take a Taxi home and sure enough we had a crazy taxi driver!! Thankfully we got home safe!!

Now, it's late and I am really tired so have a great one and hope that you come back soon!!!

Saturday, August 30, 2008

Another day in Germany






Hi Again!!

So today we had lunch with out sponsors. All the girls had to look nice so it was good to see everyone wearing something other than spandex!!! It was nice to see them but i could not undestand a word of what they were talking about. Then we had to introduce ourselves in German!!! Can you imagine me trying to say anything.....Ich Bin Paula, Ich bin volleyball spielerin...anyway it was bad!!!


After, lunch Liv, Erica and I decided to go out to try to buy a map from Germany.....we walked and walked and couldn't find anything.....we were finally tired and decided to go home but on our way home we could smell the fresh baked bread so we had to stop and get some!!! It was delicious!! Almost as good a fresh brazilian bread!


We finally got home and rested a little...but soon we had to get ready to go to practice. Off we went......practice was hard but good!!


Enough for today...hope you guys enjoy it!! Attached are some pictures! On the top is a picture of my roommates (left is Liv and right is Erica)
Bis Bald!!

Friday, August 29, 2008

2nd Day in Deutschland






Today (thursday), we wanted to wake up at around 10 am to go to the Bakery to get fresh bread however, the plan went down the drain because we didn't get up until 1 pm!!!!

We then decided that we had to go grocery shopping. Off we went......took us about 20 minutes walking to get to the store. As soon as we walked in the store I really realized how little German i understood!!!! But thank god that fruits and veggies looks the same everywhere!!! Anyway, it took us about 2 hours to finish and as we walked to the cashier we realized that there were no bags!!!!!!! So, i spotted some laundry baskets and since we needed some we decided to buy a couple and put our groceries in it!! Great plan right!!! Yeah.....but half way home our arms were really tired and then I saw in the middle of the bushes a grocery cart (see picture) we couldn't believe it!!! We, put the stuff in the cart and took it home.

By this time we are already late to go to the German lesson and to make matters worst we had to take the bus!!!! Thank god we got in the right bus but we were 30 minutes late for the lesson which by the way I understood barely nothing!!!

After lesson we headed to practice. Practice was hard my arms are all blue and black but at last i am doing fine!! Enough for today.....hope to hear from you!! leave your comment!!

First Day in Germany

Hi all!!!! It's Paula
I arrived in Frankfurt on wednesday mourning and Heike and Rudy picked me up!! They took me to breakfast where i had some omellet and some wonderful german rolls!!!! After that they took me to my apartment where i met my wonderful roommates, Erica (from the US) and Liv (from Brazil). We have really clicked and seems like we have been friends for a long time!

Later that they I practiced with the team and it was good. The other girls are awesome and they come from many different parts of the world such as: China, Hungary, Poland, Serbia, Czech Republic, USA and Brazil, ops almost forgot and a couple from Germany. So, I hope by the end of this season I can speak a little bit of everything!!!! Anyway, after practice i was really tired however, took me a long time of fall asleep due to th 7 hours difference!

Even though I am in Germany and it has been great i can't stop thinking about my love, Cleve in minneapolis! It has been really hard not to have him around but i am sure that soon i will be able to see him!!! Love you honey!!!

Guys, i think is plenty of writing for now..........come back later!